Aging or What?

4 08 2012

The other day there was a power outage, and then the carbon monoxide detector on the main floor started to chirp a warning.  Scared me really.  So I phoned the fire department, and they sent a truck.

I really, really, hated to bother them, but one never knows…..

The truck pulled up and two firemen came into the yard where I was waiting.

I told them that it was the detector on the main floor that was sounding an alarm, and that the one on the lower level was quiet.

One firemen went upstairs, one down.

The fellow who’d gone upstairs came out and the one who’d gone downstairs also came back outside.

The guy who had gone upstairs said to me, “It’s a smoke detector, not a carbon monoxide detector.

What did he think I was, an idiot?!!

Of course there was a smoke detector on the ceiling, but the carbon monoxide detector was in the wall outlet, at floor level.

I told him so, and the other guy went back inside, and brought out the carbon monoxide detector.

I was told

1. replace these every 5 years or so

2. they are very susceptible to dust

3. always check the battery

One firemen proceeded to remove the battery and told me to leave the carbon monoxide detector outside in the air for about 8 hours before putting in a new battery and installing it again.

He said they get about a 1000 calls a year on these things.

So, I have learned a bit about carbon monoxide detectors, learned that they do need some maintenance, and learned that older women may be subject to insults to their intelligence.

Perhaps he thought I was an idiot, but I think he was the idiot.

Am I to expect more of this sort of treatment, as I get older, I wonder?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

